Blog of ambient shoegaze electronica acts winterlight and lightsway, aka Tim Ingham

two become one

One of the things that follows from my signing to n5md is that for the time being I will be putting the lightsway project on hold.

Lightsway came about because of my desire to release a record on my friend Tarl’s new label, distant noise. My label at the time wanted exclusivity over the winterlight name and so in order to release something I had to use a differnt name. Many of the tracks on the lightsway album were demos for what might have become winterlight tracks and indeed a few are getting overhauls at the moment and may feature on my forthcoming album in a rather more polished format. Consequently, you can see how lightsway was always a banner of convenience to me and so now I have a label which is more flexible with releases it is not something I need. 

I have not ruled out lightsway coming back in some form in the future but for the time being lightsway and winterlight will merge under the winterlight name.

3 responses

  1. Brad

    I missed out on the Lightsway “Summer Interlude” CD, when I found your music it was already sold out. It’s sad that music this great only gets released in 100 copies. Is there any chance you’ll be releasing this again so that others can get a copy of it?

    Thanks, looking forward to the N5MD release, they are the best label out there IMO.

    Brad

    August 10, 2010 at 10:36 pm

  2. winterlightmusic

    Thank you Brad for your kind words.
    I did talk to n5 about rereleasing the lightsway album but, as much of the material was really demos for winterlight released as lightsway for contractual reasons, we decided to pick a few faves which are being reworked/polished for inclusion on the new album. I have a few promo copies of summer interlude which if you are in the UK I will sell at the port-royal gig in the autumn.
    Tim

    August 23, 2010 at 12:03 am

    • Brad

      Sorry but I can’t make that show, I live in North America if I lived over in the UK I’d try and get there and get a copy. Oh well, thanks anyway.

      Brad

      August 26, 2010 at 9:20 pm

Leave a comment